Awakening, Thankful, and Living in the Moment

I came across this blog post that I never got around to posting. It’s from Monday, July 20, 2009  9:57 EST

What an amazing experience I have just had. I jokingly say that I was on vacation, ahem, I mean tour. I love being in new places, meeting new people, and most of all, performing my solo piano music and spreading my peace and my love through my music. What an incredible feeling to touch people’s hearts and souls and share the love and peace that I am so fortunate to have. I feel Blessed. There have been times in my life where I have felt cursed. I have managed to rise above those very difficult times and I am now enjoying the fruits of my labor. Still, living in the moment always presents such incredible challenges. Every moment IS a challenge. In this moment, am I Awake, or am I asleep? And here comes another moment and another struggle to be awake. Right now I am very Awake. I am also very Thankful.

It’s always easy to compare oneself to people who have what appears to be more stuff, or happier families, or success in the world. To be able to look the other way and compare oneself to the have nots, and begin to see all that we do have, and how lucky we are, is much more humbling and much more rewarding. To be Thankful. To accept exactly what one has and be appreciative and thankful is what it is all about. It does not mean that we need not strive for more success, or a better income, or to be more loving. What it does mean is to accept exactly what we have been given as perfect for our personal evolution. The attitude that we bring to what we have been given and how we deal with whatever we have been given are two very important subjects in our effort to Awaken.

Which brings me to the idea of acting and reacting. I see that so much of my behavior is nothing more than stimulus response. So often someone says something or does something, and I very quickly react both emotionally and intellectually to what someone has said. In order to act, instead of react, one must be present, in the moment, Awake.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

