When Work is Play

I am so grateful that what I do for a living is my joy, my passion, my raison d’etre. I am thankful when I wake up in the morning and realize that my heart beat all through the night and is allowing me another day to pursue my life’s mission: to create a more loving and peaceful world by writing, recording and performing, music from the heart. I have worked all of my life to get where I am today. Every day is Friday for me. That is, TGIF every day. And breaking it down further, I try to be fully Conscious every waking moment of my life. Life is made up of a whole bunch of present moments strung together. When I think about the idea that Malcolm Gladwell wrote about in Outliers, that it takes 10,000 hours to be an expert, I would have to say that I am an expert musician. I have been playing music all of my life, literally. On my new CD, Reality Not Fantasy, there is a picture of me when I was 6 months old, playing a toy piano on a hotel bed in Chicago, where my father happened to be performing at the time. I began playing the real piano at 4 years old, picking out melodies by ear. At five, I was taking piano lessons. So, I have exceeded the 10,000 hours many times over. There were times when I was at Berklee College of Music that I would practice 8 hours a day and then go out to jam sessions to play some more. I have loved playing music all my life. It has always brought me so much joy. I am so thankful that music is what I do for a living, as difficult a path as it has been at times. I don’t work for a living, I play.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

